Tips On the use of the planters

Proper handling is necessary for you to get the most out of your planters for a long time. Basically, no plant pot is 100% frost-resistant. Not even steel, asphalt, or rocks can withstand the power of frozen water when it expands. By following a few important points, you will be able to ensure that your pots survive the winter season. We only declare hard-fired pots as winterproof, but the following must be observed in all cases.

The Pot

Hard-fired, glazed pots absorb less water and are therefore more reliable than conventional pots. Planters with wider top openings are more robust than tapered ones. Reason: They allow the soil to expand upwards freely in case of frost.

The Soil

Good drainage is extremely important. Ideally, you should first add a drainage layer consisting of gravel or LECA and then plant your flowers, etc. in a mixture of sand and soil. This is important because pot substrates tend to densify. Always fill the pots with a good amount of soil. 

The Location

A protected environment is always recommended. Make sure you place the pots on stands and never directly on the floor or saucers as this prevents the excess water from draining. Do not expose the pots to direct sunshine, otherwise the water along the edges will thaw out during the day causing the clay to absorb excess water. This increases the risk of damages due to renewed freezing at night since the water in the frozen inner layers cannot flow out.

 
 

Following these points will ensure you get the most out of your pots for a long time. 

dummy

1 Drainage hole
2 Drainage material
3 Fleece
4 Soil
5 Stand (feet)

 

Arbasta AG
Töpfereistrasse 24
3423 Ersigen

Tel.: +41 (0)34 447 70 70
Fax.: +41 (0)34 447 70 71
vrkfrbstch

 

Imprint © Arbasta AG

TIPPS RUND UM DEN TOPF

Damit Sie lange Freude an Ihren Töpfen haben, kommt es auf die richtige Behandlung an. Den 100 % frostfesten Topf gibt es grundsätzlich nicht. Gefrierendes Wasser sprengt mit seiner Ausdehnung selbst Stahl, Asphalt und Felsen. Mit der Beachtung einiger wichtigen Punkte können Sie jedoch viel dazu beitragen, dass die Töpfe den Winter überstehen. Wir deklarieren nur hochgebrannte Töpfe als Winterfest. Dabei ist aber in jedem Fall folgendes zu beachten.

Der Topf

Hochgebrannte, glasierte Töpfe können weniger Wasser aufnehmen und sind daher sicherer als handelsübliche Töpfe. Gefässe mit nach oben weiter werdender Öffnung sind sicherer als solche, die sich stark verjüngen. Begründung; bei Frost kann sich die Erde nach oben frei ausdehnen.

Die Erde

Ein guter Wasserabzug ist sehr wichtig. Am besten Sie füllen zuerst eine Drainageschicht bestehend aus Kies oder Leca ein. Anschliessend pflanzen Sie in eine mit Sand durchmischte Erde. Dies ist wichtig, weil sich Topf-Substrate gerne verdichten. Töpfe immer gut mit Erde füllen.

Der Standort

Ein geschützter Standort empfiehlt sich. Stellen Sie die Töpfe in der kalten Jahreszeit auf Füsse und nie direkt auf den Boden oder in einen Unterteller – das Wasser kann sonst nicht abfliessen. Gefässe nicht der direkten Sonneneinstrahlung aussetzen, sonst taut es am Tag dem Rand entlang auf und der Ton saugt sich voll. Da das Wasser durch die gefrorene Innenschicht nicht abfliessen kann, ist die Gefahr für Schäden bei einem erneuten Frieren in der Nacht enorm gross.

 
 

Wenn Sie auf diese Punkte achten, werden Sie sich lange an Ihren Töpfen erfreuen können.

dummy

1 Abflussloch
2 Drainagematerial
3 Vlies
4 Erde
5 Füsschen

 

Arbasta AG
Töpfereistrasse 24
3423 Ersigen

Tel.: +41 (0)34 447 70 70
Fax.: +41 (0)34 447 70 71
vrkfrbstch

 

Impressum © Arbasta AG